The Portuguese Commission on Tunneling and Underground Space (CPT) of the Portuguese Geotechnical Society (SPG) and the National Laboratory for Civil Engineering (LNEC) are organizing the 5th International Seminar on Underground Space with the lemma “Health and Safety in Underground Space”. The Seminar will be held at the Congress Center of the National Laboratory for Civil Engineering in October 18th, 2019.

The Seminar will be endorsed by the International Tunneling and Underground Space Association (ITA-AITES) and supported by ABTUS (Belgium), AETOS (Spain), AFTES (France), SIG (Italy) and FGU-STS (Switzerland), partners of CPT at the BEFIPS partnership.

The Portuguese Chamber of Engineers (OE) and the Chamber of Architects (OA) as well as the Portuguese Association of Designers and Consultants (APPC) will support the event.

The lemma of the Seminar reflects the interests and concerns of the professional community of the built underground space about vital issues related with the human presence during construction and service.

The multi-disciplinary and transversal scope of the Seminar is evident on the multitude of professional domains: Engineering areas of Mechanics, Electricity and Electronics, Computation, Control and Safety, and, last but not least, Architecture and Psychology.

The group of 12 invited lecturers, experts on at least one of the aforesaid subjects, is a guarantee of an extremely appealing and promising event.

The adoption of emerging technologies on construction materials, methods and equipment in the planning and management of exploration and maintenance has been revolutionizing this field of activity.

CPT envisages renewing its high standard of organization built since the very beginning, more than 10 years ago. We hope to welcome numerous participants, both CPT affiliates and professionals of underground space engineering as well as students.

Organizing Committee

J. Bilé Serra (LNEC/CPT)
Raúl Pistone (COBA/CPT)
Jorge Saraiva (Dinâmica Aplicada)

João Viegas (LNEC)
Manuel Tender (CPT)
Luís Miranda (LNEC/CPT)